Acceptance

Hello everyone! It has been a while since my last blog but I hope that life has been treating you well. Well lets get into my thoughts. From the title of the blog you already know what is on my mind. This idea of acceptance and the relevancy it has to my life and to yours hopefully.

So I am finishing up my third week of my internship and it is going delightfully well so far. I am learning a lot and being inspired and challenged by wonderful people. Today I took this test called the StrengthFinder and I have five signature themes of strength.

I am first a Restorer, second Futuristic, third a Learner, fourth an Achiever, and lastly a Belief. What does this all mean? Well a restorer is someone who fixed what is broken and brings it back to life. Futuristic are those people who are always thinking of what can be and all the possibilities intertwined with life. A learner is someone who enjoys the process of things and how it all works. An achiever is someone who is always wanting to do something meaningful and feel accomplished and Belief is someone who’s values give them their purpose in life.

All in all I was pleasantly surprised with how well the results described me. Now what does this all have to do with acceptance. Well, I think for me and for a lot of people out there acceptance in one of the hardest things for us to achieve. I think it is harder for me to accept who I am and who I am not than it is to accept others.

I am wired in that I don’t accept myself for my strengths and my weaknesses. I see myself in darkness and forget my inner light. That is the hardest thing for me acceptance of who I am not. When you want to be more and better than you are then how can you accept who you are not. I think there comes a point where reality and dream merge and you have to know that you can be many things and then there are things you will never be because that is not where you are supposed to be.

I see the greatness in others yet get lost when I look towards myself. What I want to tell you all is that acceptance is not a bad thing it can bring peace into your heart. Find your strengths and focus on them instead of your weaknesses.

Surround yourself with people who will accept and respect you for who you are and not who they want you to be.

~ by tsunamiblues on June 19, 2008.

3 Responses to “Acceptance”

  1. I really enjoy reading your blogs and i at times i always felt the same way as you. when i read your blogs i can feel and understand what you go through. my name is linda :) just letting you know im a fan of what you write inspires me to keep going. keep writing so i can read more! :D we should chat sometime if its alright with you, i would love to talk to you about all bits of issues you can email me your aim :) well take care!

  2. May The Lord Grant Us
    The success to produce a constant, glowing, growing flame deep within ourselves that will enable us to aquire the power to overcome anything, be victorious, and reap the rewards of strength and success. The Secrets Of Time, Determination and Strength. Faith to give us the strength of body, mind, and soul to help us through any crisis we might face. GOD BLESS ALL!!!

  3. Glad to have encouragement I found here… I have wasted so much life waiting to become someone else… seems like your writing is part of what seems like a “bread crumb path” the Lord is leaving me about being who I am… earlier today a reminder of a dream I had years ago of seeing myself embrace my own tired face looking back at me, and loving this person. It was then that my life opened up. Then leaving work I heard on radio… ” GPS… Love God… People… YOURSELF…” The simple road to stay on… Oh, and a quote I found before I found your site…” “The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.”
    Anna Quindlen
    I plan on keeping this part of the “trail” I found. Thanks for sharing your heart.!

Leave a Reply

 
