Resonating Words Lead To Moments of Clarity…

So who else is having a not so wonderful day? Why is it that the day looks so pretty when the sun shines through the window but once you sink reality into the situation you realize that it is not going to be a wonderful day. Nope instead you have a major exam, team meetings where people don’t know how to follow directions, and have to work till midnight and deal with annoying people who jump out an think it is fun to scare you.

Have you gotten a glimpse of my day yet? I’m sure someone out there is having a better day, and others might be having a worse day. All I have to say is that once midnight comes around it will be a new day; and with new days comes new and hopefully wonderful possibilities.

Now what about these moments of clarity? Sometimes you don’t get to those moments without a push from someone else. Well I got my push, lets see how far my legs will carry me.

Last night, I went to a friends house to have dinner and we were having a really good conversation (we usually do) and she said something that has been in my mind since those words came out of her mouth. She said something about people doing the same things but expecting different results. For example, if you never study for a test and you know you need to, yet you still expect to get 100% on it. Or, you are so worried about rejection that you still haven’t taken a chance.

That has been resonating inside of me and I cannot get it out of my head. Which tells me that it has some substance to my life, and what I am doing. If I never take a risk how can I expect anything to change? If I never step up to the plate and meet new people, how can I expect to move outside my circle of friends. By now you get to point. If we want something to happen when cannot just keep following the same routine and expect different results. We have to change that plan, make new opportunities that will lead us to  different paths.

I know it is EASIER SAID THAN DONE. *Sighs* isn’t that true for the things that can lead to the greatest rewards. It is so much easier to write about taking these actions than actually taking them. It is easier to keep sitting on the sidelines than to actually go one the field. It is easier to complain about things we could change than to actually go ahead and change them.

Is this ringing any bells? What the hell is wrong with all of us? I would have to say that nothing is wrong with us but it is not necessarily right with us either. Why is it that I can be courageous when it comes to everything but facing my own heart? Why is it that when it comes to being honest about my feelings I lack that courage to just keep it real? Why is it that I don’t have the guts to put myself out there and just be like “Hey I like you” Why do I spend so much energy questioning everything I do? Why do I care about what people think about me from my looks to what I say? I’m probably making you sick, I am making myself sick with all these questions and uncertainties.

Is it part of life to question this much, or am I just being abnormally difficult? I sometimes feel like I make my life more difficult than it has to be. But, not all of us can be free in our expressions. If everyone was like that I think the world would be like chaos.

Okay, so back to wanting results when your not changing your inputs; it doesn’t have to be a big endeavor. It can be as simple as  getting up at a certain time everyday so you can go to the gym to finally taking the steps you have always needed(wanted) to take so that you can go after that dream, love, passion whatever it is that your heart and mind have been longing for.

Remember that you have a choice (as do I) to keep doing the same thing and expecting different results or you could finally change that routine, apply for that position and begin to take control of your path and not just let the road you lead you wherever it wants.

Take baby steps until you are ready to take that leap. Make sure that you are the one holding the reins and when your ready take a deep breath and…

~ by tsunamiblues on February 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
