Daily Dose: What exactly is LOVE?

What does it mean to love someone? How do you find love? How will you know it is love? How will you know that this love is real love and not some imitation of love? How will you know that this love will last forever? How will you know that there isn’t a greater love waiting for you? Do you think that you will find love in your lifetime?

One of my quirks is that I think way too much, as you can probably tell from all the questions that I just asked. These are some of the questions I ask myself when I think about love (romantic). Lately, I have been thinking about the lack of love in my life and how I need to just let it go and wait for God to bring my love to me or to show me the path to reach my love. I don’t know if I am am being childish, immature, or just naive about love but let me tell you more about my idea of love and them maybe you will understand…

If I could open up my chest an show you the dreams of my heart, maybe then you would be able to fully understand my feelings; but since I cannot do that let my words give you a glimpse of those dreams. When I think about my life I truly believe from the bottom of my heart that God did not bring me into this world to live my life alone. It is hard to explain but I just feel like their is someone God created just for me to love and be loved by. I go through the days dreaming of this person and wondering how he is passing his days by. I don’t know who he is, but I know somewhere out in the world he exists and one day I will be able to know him. That is something that I hold onto from the bottom of my heart. That my love is breathing the same air, seeing the same sun, and is making his way towards me. I just get so impatient waiting and wondering who this person is, have I met him before, when will we cross paths, what does he look like, how will I know it is him, wondering if we will have to suffer before we get to love each other, what does he like to do, what is his life like? I think about him not even knowing who he is, all I can think is that he is the person created to be the ying to my yang, the other piece to the puzzle of him and I. The person who understand me best, loves me most, and will be my waterbird.

What do I mean by waterbird? There is this story about waterbirds, they take turns carrying each other on their backs as they fly. Supporting and carrying for each other through all the tribulations. I want someone I can support and who can support me. That we can carry each other’s burdens and help each other along the way.

When I think about love, I see it only as the foundation for a relationship. Love is the foundation of it, but you need elements of trust, honestly, forgiveness, love, compassion, honor, fidelity, truthfulness, respect, and other things to build the walls and roof of that relationship so that is can be a strong force in times of trouble. That is why I want to gave a strong, deep, and sincere love as a foundation to build upon. I think about my life and how I want to share it with only one man for the rest of my life everyday. Even though I am only twenty, I am kind of old fashioned about love and relationships. When I think about love, for me it is giving my whole heart, body, and soul to my life partner. The person who will be my husband, lover, and best friend. I don’t want to have more than one love, for me one love for the rest of my life is how I wish it to be. One man to love and dedicate myself to is what I have asked God for. He cannot be just any man, he has to be worthy of the pureness and honesty of the love that lies within me.

When I think about what love means to me, it is more about the simple things and none of the grandness of displays of love. That is because love is more than romantic gestures, or sweet promises, love is about the care you show for another person, and putting them before yourself. When I think about love, it comes in many colors from passionate red to deep blues it varies from moment to moment, but each color shines strong an bright. Sometimes love can be a passionate red; your so infatuated with each other that a moment apart is like agony. Then it is pure white; the honesty of your love created a bond that is unbreakable. It can be a deep blue; compassionate and understanding towards each other, or a pretty pink full of silliness and laugher! Those are only a few shades of love, but each one is special and beautiful.

When I think about love and what it means to love someone, I think about just always being at that person’s side. Never leaving them to feel to cruelness of the world. Staying by their side through the good times, bad times, and sad times. Being their strength when they are weak, giving them happiness when they feel sad, caring for them when they are sick, loving them without being asked to, supporting them through their goals and dreams, caring for them, thinking about them. Giving more than you take, forgiving them for their mistakes and faults. Love is about taking the good with the bad, and loving them though it all. Love is more important through hardships that good times. Love is going beyond your limitations to make them happy. Love is taking a step forward in a new direction together. Love is not selfish, cruel, or cold because love is about generosity, kindness, and warmth. I don’t think that anything can be warmer than the love that exists between two people. I guess that is one of the reasons I am so impatient about love, I never feel warm. I look forward to the warmth that comes from the love between us.

I feel a sense of lonliness waiting for my lover to appear. It is the loneliness of wanting to give my heart to him, yet I haven’t even found my way to him. I am waiting impatiently to be by his side, hold his hand, lay next to him absorbing his warmth, to be able to laugh with him, talk with him, eat with him, smile with him, and just being able to be by his side and know I am the only one who holds that place in his life now and forever.

~ by tsunamiblues on November 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “Daily Dose: What exactly is LOVE?”

  1. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  2. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but could you elaborate more on what you don’t agree with?

Leave a Reply

 
